Farmland Preservation / Soil Health

Challenges: Dams (Rochester and Wind Lake) causing streambank erosion

 

Action Items:

  1. Water quality testing

  2. Develop adaptive management program

  3. Continue to educate more farmers to start soil health management practices

 

Group Facilitator: Chad Sampson, Racine County Land Conservation Department

 

Sign up List:

  • Jonathan Grove, Racine County

  • Tom Greil, Watershed Protection Committee of Racine County/Farmer, tgreil@hotmail.com (although he doesn’t check his email as much) 414-651-4076

  • Brian Gunderson, Gunderson Grain Farms' gundersongrain@tds.net

  • John Kojis, Watershed Protection Committee of Racine County/Farmer, johnkojis@tds.net, 262-492-3731

  • Jon Bird, Watershed Protection Committee of Racine County/Farmer, no email  262-492-8438

  • Anthony Beck, Watershed Protection Committee of Racine County/Farmer, BeckGrain@tds.net,  262-206-3954

  • Mike Stever, Racine County/Farmer, msteverturf@gmail.com   can’t find his phone #

  • Tom Schuster, Landscaper

  • Dale Buser, SEWRPC

  • Peter Riggs, City of Burlington, Director of Public Works, priggs@burlington-wi.gov

  • Chris Kious, Kane Count Board Member, ckious@kanecoboard.org, office: 630-444-1223      mobile: 630-248-1369

  • Scott Kuykendall,  McHenry County Dept of Planning and Development, shkuykendall@co.mchenry.il.us 815-334-4560

  • Lindsay Birt, Huff & Huff, Inc.

 

Others in the loop:

Russ Weis, rweis273@gmail.com,  262-758-2640

John Holloway, hollowayjd@icloud.com, 262-914-5407

Cody Nelson,  soilrx@gmail.com, 507-720-2998     www.soilrx.net

Cody Nelson - Soil Rx

2019 Fox River Summit Presentation: The Effects of Soil Health and How To Get Started

Dale Buser - SEWRPC

2019 Fox River Summit Presentation: Pollutant Load Characterization & Streambank Erosion Prioritization Project Fox River Watershed, Southeastern Wisconsin

Nick Baker - UW Extension

2017 Fox River Summit Presentation: Engaging Farmers in Cover Crop Work